8th May 2018

Award-winning students on the Student Leadership Programme

Our #150Leaders have been busy winning awards last month at the Student Nursing Times Awards (SNTA), with many others receiving nominations in various categories.

A special congratulations go to two of the #150Leaders who came away with awards on the night. Laura Thomas won Student Midwife of the Year Award, which was presented by the Council’s very own Dr Katerina Kolyva, and Kelly-Hellen Hitchcock won the award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Affairs. Kelly-Hellen Hitchcock and Laura Thomas were both on the Student Leadership Programme in 2017.

Two of the #150Leaders have also been nominated for RCNi awards in the Andrew Parker Student Nurse category. Katie Dutton has actively been raising awareness of sepsis after recovering from the life-threatening condition herself. Raluca Vagner has co-created an online platform bringing together information on all phases of the non-trauma amputation pathway for patients and clinicians. Winners will be announced on 4 July.

A full list of all the #150Leaders SNTA nominees are below:

Most Inspirational Student Nurse of the Year

  • Felicity Allman, Plymouth Univeristy
  • Katie Dutton, De Montfort University
  • Leanne Patrick, University of Stirling

Outstanding Contribution to Student Affairs

  • Kelly-Hellen Hitchcock and Laura MacPherson, University of Derby
  • Leanne Patrick, University of Stirling

Student Innovation in Practice

  • Raluca Vagner, Oxford Brookes University

Student Midwife of the Year

  • Laura Thomas, Bangor University

Student Nurse of the Year: Mental Health

  • Kelly-Hellen Hitchcock, University of Derby
  • Megan Smith, Bangor University

Congratulations to all the #150Leaders winners and nominees. We expect to see lots more next year!