CoDH Scotland Launched

1 October 2015


CoDH Scotland Logo

The Council of Deans of Health (CoDH) has launched a new group in Scotland to be the voice of nursing, midwifery and allied health education and research north of the Border.

Council of Deans of Health Scotland has replaced the former Scottish Heads of Academic Nursing & Allied Health Professions (SHANAHP) group. An inaugural meeting took place on 23 & 24 September at the University of Stirling.

CoDH Scotland

CoDH Scotland members and guests (Photo: L. Black)

CoDH Scotland Convener, Professor Brian Webster-Henderson said:

“The launch of CoDH Scotland shows the commitment from both Scottish universities and the Council to the nursing, midwifery and allied health professions in Scotland.   SHANAHP has enjoyed a very good relationship with the Council in recent years but it was agreed by our Scottish members that we could work best as one organisation operating across the UK.  We are in the early stages of developing our key priorities for Scotland and these will inform our activity in the coming months and years.”

Professor Dame Jessica Corner, Chair of the Council of Deans of Health added:

“Our members in Scotland have been making a great impact over the years and I am delighted with the  launch of Council of Deans of Health Scotland.  We appointed a dedicated staff member for Scotland two and a half years ago, and the formation of CoDH Scotland coincides with the continued expansion of the Council’s head office staff team and the restructuring of our UK executive team.  This means we are now even better placed to assist our Scottish member universities and work with our stakeholders in Scotland.”


Notes to Editors:

  1. The Council of Deans of Health is the voice of the deans and heads of university faculties for nursing, midwifery and the allied health professions. For further information:
  2. For further information please contact Neil Freshwater ( / 0131 202 6208).
  3. Council of Deans of Health Scotland represents all of Scotland’s universities that deliver NMAHP education and/or research (Abertay University, University of Aberdeen, Robert Gordon University, University of Dundee, University of Stirling, University of Glasgow, Glasgow Caledonian University, University of Strathclyde, Edinburgh Napier University, University of Edinburgh, Queen Margaret University, University of the West of Scotland, University of the Highlands & Islands, and the Open University in Scotland).
Share:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *